

## WHITE HOUSE NEWS PHOTOGRAPHERS ASSOCIATION

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

## 2014 MULTIMEDIA AWARD WINNERS ANNOUNCED

## Nation's Leading Multimedia Journalists Compete for Top Industry Awards

(WASHINGTON, D.C. – Feb. 9, 2014) – The White House News Photographers Association announced the winners of the Multimedia categories in the annual 'Eyes of History™' competition.

Jim Lo Scalzo won first place in the **Linear Storytelling** category for **Iowa's County Fairs**, a story he produced for European Press Photo agency. Ben de la Cruz took second and third place for two stories produced for National Public Radio, **Gizmo**<u>Uses Lung Cells To Sniff Out Health Hazards In Urban Air</u> and <u>Exploring The Invisible Universe That Lives On Us – And In Us</u>. Coburn Dukehart received an honorable mention for <u>Brotherhood</u>, <u>Pictures And Life With Cerebral Palsy</u>, a story produced for National Public Radio.

Ken Geiger took first place in **Non-Linear Storytelling** for the iPad version of **The Last Chase**, a story produced for The National Geographic chronicling a devastating tornado and the last days of a storm chaser. Geiger also took second for **Lions of the Serengeti** and third for **Last Song**, about perils faced by migrating songbirds; all his entries were iPad versions of stories that appeared in the magazine and online. Linda Davidson of The Washington Post received an Honorable Mention for **Refuge: Stories from the Syrian Exodus**.

Kainaz Amaria won first place in the **Innovation** category for <u>Planet Money Makes A T-Shirt</u>, a story produced for National Public Radio that uniquely chronicles the hidden world behind clothes sold in the United States. Geiger also took second for <u>The Serengeti Lion</u>.

The judges chose National Geographic's <u>The Last Chase</u> for Best in Show. "The judges favored strong storytelling over design and beautiful images" said multimedia contest chair Pierre Kattar.

The judges for the Multimedia competition were: Tom Kennedy, Miki Meek and Jennifer Crandall. Kennedy is currently an independent consultant coaching and mentoring individual photographers. Previously, he served as Managing Editor for Multimedia at washingtonpost.com, Director of Photography at *National Geographic*, Managing Editor/Digital for *PBS NewsHour* and on the faculty of the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications at Syracuse University. Meek is a radio producer at *This American Life*. Ms. Meek previously worked as an online producer and editor for *National Geographic*, where she specialized in interactive and visual storytelling and helped launch the magazine's first website. She also played a similar role at *The New York*. Crandall is a freelance video producer, shooter, editor and consultant. Previously, she was a multimedia journalist at *The Washington Post*, video editor at *The Video Journalism Movement* in the Netherlands, and the Creative Director for Video at *Salon.com*. Most recently Jennifer has been working with the editorial staff of the Alabama Media Group on creative content development and visual storytelling.

"The winning works showcase the incredible talents of the contributors," said WHNPA president Ron Sachs. "The bar of excellence in the Multimedia category gets higher each and every year."

The top winners of the still, video, multimedia and student contests will be honored at the annual 'Eyes of History<sup>TM</sup>' gala on May 10, 2014, at the Ritz-Carlton in Washington. The black-tie event celebrates all the winning photojournalists and the President of the United States. Nearly 1,000 guests, including government dignitaries and industry celebrities, attend.

The White House News Photographers Association is a 93-year-old non-profit organization dedicated to supporting the efforts of Washington's professional photojournalists. The WHNPA aims to provide professional and educational outreach to its members and the community through scholarships, programming, an annual competition and a celebration of the industry at the annual "Eyes of History<sup>TM</sup>" gala.

For more information please contact Ron Sachs at president@whnpa.org (301-526-1597) or executive director Heidi Elswick at heidi@whnpa.org (301-606-8251). For further information about 'The Eyes of History<sup>TM</sup>' and to view the winning images and v1deos, visit the WHNPA website at www.whnpa.org.

The WHNPA and "The Eyes of History  $^{TM}$ " are sponsored in part by Nikon, Tiffen/Domke and United Airlines.

